My 2019 Shetland Wool Week Experience Part 4

Wednesday morning I was working; weighing in clips, grading, sorting and, in the afternoon I gave a talk and demonstration on grading and sorting Shetland wool. We had a visit from the chairman of the Campaign for Wool Nicholas Coleridge and his wife Georgia. They were visiting Shetland Wool Week at its 10th festival and we were honoured to have them visit our premises. I gave them a brief presentation on the work of J&S and our role in Shetland Wool Week. In the evening, Catherine and I were very privileged to have dinner with Mr & Mrs Coleridge at the Scalloway Hotel, we shared some of our experiences of Island life and Catherine and I both had a very enjoyable evening. The food was excellent as usual and was greatly appreciated by our visitors.

Thursday morning I was working as usual, lots of visitors and in the afternoon took my second class at the Islesburgh community centre, following the same format as my previous one. The comments were fairly favourable with one or two suggesting I hold classes at next year’s event.

Finished Sorting

On Thursday night we attended the MRI Scanner fundraising event in a packed town hall. The MRI makkers were in attendance along with hand spinners. There was also a selection of textile items on display from the local craft workers, which was of great interest to the Wool Week visitors. There was also an excellent selection of food on offer including tattie soup which had been prepared by the hospital kitchen. In attendance were members of this year’s Up Helly Aa Fire Festival, led by their Jarl John Nicolson. They were in great demand for photo opportunities and this added another distinct part of our culture and heritage to the evening. I handed over Jamieson & Smith’s raffle prize which would be held later in the evening. I returned home rather exhausted and looking forward to another busy day in the morning.

Harriet of MRI Scanner Appeal, Jarl and I
Mrs Webber and I

Friday morning, working in the morning doing the usual chores and again quite a few visitors to the wool store! One lady in particular came to see us with her raffle prize from the previous evening. She had won our raffle item and wished for me to sign one of the books she had won. Friday afternoon, another talk and demonstration to a very large group of visitors, as was the case with previous tours there were lots of questions on the make- up of Real Shetland, and its characteristics, the handle of the wool in particular.

Friday Tour Visit
Raffle Prize Winner

On Friday evening, I actually crashed out after tea and when I came to my senses it was too late to venture out, possibly very wise as Saturday was going to be extremely busy!

One thought on “My 2019 Shetland Wool Week Experience Part 4

  1. Thank you, Ollie for taking us on this wonderful tour of history and of this year’s Wool Week ! It has been wonderful !

    Like

Leave a comment